Arlock writes (personal). An outlet for Glossolalia

Ten more books (0I- 10)


EDIT: This used to be 50 books in 50 weeks, but let’s face it, I can’t keep to a schedule, and even if I could I often forget to record which books I’ve read, or what I thought about them.

Maybe you’ve heard of it, maybe you’ve fallen afoul of the popular meme; maybe not. I however have decided that if I’m not reading a book a week, then I’m really not keeping up with my field. So Starting now, it’s time to be catching up with what I’ve read, doing 2 sentence reviews, and then looking for the next literary fix.

Recently I did the unthinkable. I picked up the first book in each of three separate series. Not so strange you think? Traditionally however I’ve avoided multi-part series unless they’re already finished. What if the writer dies? Or never gets around to finishing that series you’re on the edge of your seat waiting for (looking at you George RR Martin). This time, one of each and maybe I won’t be stuck reading a crap series simply because I bought all the books at once.

So here are the first 10, amazing in the fact that there wasn’t a novel here that annoyed me. All good (in their own ways) all books I’m glad I read.

Shadow and Betrayal – Daniel Abraham
The Long Price (Book One): Nice Asian feel to this one, nice story, interesting background concepts. Not quite to my taste, but good all the same.

winterbirthWinterbirth – Brian Ruckley
The Godless World (Book One): Love the world, and love the story, not particularly in love with the characters. Its not that they’re bad characters, just that they don’t particularly grip me and I find myself skipping the names just to get to the meat of the story.

The Blade Itself – Joe Abercrombie
The First Law (Book One): Kind of the reverse of Brain Ruckley’s work, here I love the detail and depth given to the characters but the plot seems a bit… meh….

gardens moonGardens of the Moon – Steven Erikson
A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Not a quiet read, this one gets you thinking, and in my case writing the rest of the story in my head at the end of each chapter. I have to say that this is one of those rare gems, epic fantasy that doesn’t seem to break suspension of disbelief.

Good Omens – Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman
A read-read of a classic, what can I say? Two of my favourite thinkers writing together.

smallfavorSmall Favour – Jim Butcher
Dresden Files: Big Butler fan, and this book reminded me why. Like all the Dresden Files the novels are a bit on the light and pulpy side, but still pack a great story. Great detective genre work with the arcane almost as a glaze.

The Shadow of Solomon – Laurence Gardner
Um…. Still digesting. Originally I picked this up as was research material, not so sure what it became by the time I put it down. I’ll go out on a limb here and give it a “Interesting” and leave it at that.

Dangerous IdeaWhat is Your Dangerous Idea – John Brockman
Awesome. Everyone should read this.

Blood Heir – Brain Ruckley
The Godless World (Book Two): Back in the godless world the story continues, but the characters remain bleached of real interest. Don’t get me wrong, still a good read.

 

before hangedBefore They Are Hanged – Joe Abercrombie
The First Law (Book Two): Back in this world that seems to be looking more and more familiar, the novel follows basically three different story paths, all three of which are ultimately futile. The story has cemented itself as the frame for the characters, who while still intriguing, don’t seem to be evolving much.

One response

  1. Pingback: 7 Writer Secrets (that may ruin your work) | Arlock.JW

Add your own thoughts

