Arlock writes (personal). An outlet for Glossolalia

Dragons?


DragonDragons, I’ve always wanted to write Dragons. For me the dragon has always been at the heart of Fantasy.

My first introduction, outside the Pern series, was a wonderful little novel by Rose Estes, called Children of the Dragon. It made such an impression on me as a young reader that I went out and bough a copy 10 years later, to give to any hatchlings that I might spawn.

In Epic fantasy they’re majestic forces of destruction, dominating the skies and laying waste to whole nations. While in Urban have somehow shrunk to pocket sized comic relief, often found setting fire to expensive things in the underwear draw.

Either way I want to write dragons… but I’m not that brave yet. Dragons have to be treated carefully, with asbestos lined, kid gloves.
So… Dragons? … a mainstay of fantasy that lifts us from the page and into the worlds on fire-wreathed wings? Or a tired cliché best left off the page? Thoughts?

Comments more than welcome…

EDIT: until I was about to write this I actually had no idea that Estes had written a whole slew of books. You live and learn. – I love the digital age… and goodreads

 

Add your own thoughts

