Arlock writes (personal). An outlet for Glossolalia

Biting the hand that may one day feed me…


Social Media Plan. Raise your social profile. Cross-post, re-tweet, automate and schedule.

Facebook

I’m starting to get very disillusioned by this whole thing. Back when blogging was new, the message was that “content is king”. Now it seems to be a numbers game, where throughput is the deciding factor.

If I see profiles of X, Y, and Z, folks who have something interesting that I might want to see, that isn’t enough. I’ve apparently got to follow even more people, so that they follow me back, and my SEO details rise in the ranks under Goggles judgemental eye. So much stuff goes across my feed now that I often miss the stuff I want to see, as it is buried under the stuff I follow because my Media Strategy says so. Granted Google+ is on to a winner with its circles, and how you can filter feed with that, but Facebook got so bad that I’ve taken it out the back and shot it. Twice.

Twitter

Twitter, oh my little friend twitter…. You I’m still trying to deal with. So essential to a modern marketing strategy, yet so many 100’s of posts per hour before I even go looking for content. I’m starting to think that SEO rankings should be contingent upon a certain % of original content. Less than 25% of your blog/feed/circle was actually written by you, about some legitimate topic, and to the spam folder you go.

I have a sneaking suspicion that the very factors used to maximize social media exposure may be the things that end up choking it to death. Kind of fitting I guess, the digital age of publishing choked to death by bandwidth clutter and unread promotional material for a product that exists only within cyberspace.

Oh look, semi-original content laced with SEO keywords, well that is pretty self-serving. All hail the mighty lords of pre-packaged creativity, may their search terms bring you favourable traffic.

Add your own thoughts

